Memory Streams


The Beginning

Posted in Uncategorized by Memory Streams on June 17, 2010

I’ve been thinking about Memory Stream for more than a decade.  I was always a journal-keeper, documenting the time I lived in Europe and life with my babies.  I got to thinking about how cool it would be if you could look at your life on a timeline.  You would remember the things that happened in your life better and might be able to plan how you want the rest of your life to be.

After I stopped working to take care of my first child, Mark, people asked me if I was going to go back to work.  I said, “Well, not for that company, and not anytime soon”.  I pictured my whole life on a timeline and the very short span of it that Mark would be little.  Since I hadn’t invested a tremendous amount of time into my career development, like a doctor has say, and I could afford not to work, I decided to stay home.  I haven’t regretted a minute of that time with my kids.

I’ve been room parent, Girl Scout leader, HOA board member and Landscape Chair.  I’ve sold a line of jewelry and worked for the US Census.  I went back to school studying Web Graphic Design.  I divorced, remarried, then cared for my new husband while he died of melanoma in November, 2009.

All the while I longed to be documenting my interesting life and that of my kids’ in a database that I could easily enter life events and then search for them later.  This was the beginning of Memory Stream.

A prototype of Memory Stream will be available soon and I can’t wait to share it with you.  We call it “Personal Media”.  It will be a way to create a long-standing personal history.  You can share this information or keep it completely private.  Stay tuned and prepare to use a fantastic product that will let you communicate with your future self.

2 Responses to 'The Beginning'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'The Beginning'.

  1. Jennette Miller said,

    Hi Leigh,

    How exciting to finally have this project off the ground !!

    Keep me posted !

    Aunt Jennette

  2. Taylor Bikowski said,

    Memory Stream sounds like a great idea. I am now a junior in college and would have loved using this thus far. I am a scapbooker myself, but by the time I get to actually making it, the year is usually done and I have trouble remembering the important things. I would love to start using Memory Stream so that in a couple years (and for the rest of my life) I can look back at all the great acheivments, fun memories, and amazing times I had.

    Please let me know when everything is up and running!


Leave a comment