Memory Streams


Traveling Through Life

Posted in Uncategorized by Memory Streams on August 10, 2011

This week, as well as working on my company Memory Stream, doing homework for my class on Social Media at UCSD, I’ve been planning a memorial service for my father.

It will be held at Ft. Rosecrans on 8/29/11.  My dad will be buried with Navy Honors.  I called Ft. Rosecrans and they gave me the schedule/timing for the service.  I called a minister and arranged for him to lead the service.  I also started writing a script for the service which I will perfect with the minister, who was a Navy Chaplain for 26 years.

My father wrote down what he wanted said about him which helps a lot.  Other people who are attending want to speak about him too.  I’m struck again and again how often in life having a Memory Stream written about even someone you think you know as well as your father would be great.  For now I’ll just have to reconstruct his life with the memories we can still recall and hopefully do this wonderful man justice at the service.

One Response to 'Traveling Through Life'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Traveling Through Life'.

  1. Ann Wilson said,

    What nice pictures of your family! You must have wonderful memories of your father. Losing my parents was a life altering experience for me…certainly makes me appreciate the time I had with them and a little envious of others who’s parents are still living. You probably know that losing a loved one is one of the most stressful events one goes through in their life. As sad as a memorial service is, it’s nice to be able to look at it as a celebration of someone’s life and try to focus on the good memories. Ft. Rosecrans is such a beautiful spot and a real honor that your father will be buried there.


Leave a Reply

